SB 480 should be at the Governor's Office (fwd)

David V. Rogers dvrogers@seas.gwu.edu
Tue, 14 Apr 1998 08:01:18 -0400 (EDT)



---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Mon, 13 Apr 1998 15:39:49 -0400
From: Dick Rucker <rrucker@clark.net>
To: Al Cammarata <w3awu@juno.com>,
    "Armand Caron, WA3TNQ" <alcaron@erols.com>,
    "Al Wheeler, WB4JJJ" <Wb4jjj@aol.com>,
    "Ben Baddley, W4FQT" <BBaddley@aol.com>,
    "Bill Dill, N5OAJ" <piklepatch@aol.com>,
    "Brad Flippin, K6HPR" <brad_flippin@juno.com>,
    L W Buddy Smith <W4YE@aol.com>, "Denny Avers, W3DRY" <avers@ibm.net>,
    "Dave Rogers, K9RKH" <dvrogers@seas.gwu.edu>,
    Elmer Jones <k4eux@aol.com>,
    "Francis J Haynes, W4NUA" <fhaynes@juno.com>,
    "Frank Mackey, N4GUS" <mackeyf@erols.com>,
    "Glenn Bilger, W4OCC" <GBilger@juno.com>,
    "Greg Haas, W5ZNT" <gregtybe@erols.com>,
    "Gordon Messmer, W4IQA" <GMessmer@erols.com>,
    George A Paull <gapaull@juno.com>,
    "J. D. Delancy, K1ZAT" <K1ZAT@dsport.com>,
    "James Duffer, WD4AIR" <jduffer@mnsinc.com>,
    "Jack Hammett, K4VV" <JaKHammett@aol.com>,
    "Joe Herrmann, W4LBL" <W4LBL@aol.com>,
    "B.C. Jay Jackson, Jr., W4VG" <jackson@us.net>,
    John Johnston W3BE <jjohnsto@erols.com>,
    Jack Kelleher <w4zc@macconnect.com>,
    "Jim Laughter, W4EE" <w4ee@aol.com>, John Swafford <w4hu@juno.com>,
    James Wilcox <jimw@juno.com>, "Nelson Seese, W4BHD" <nseese@cpcug.org>,
    "Ray Johnson, K5RJ" <JRJNVV@aol.com>,
    "Dick Rucker, KM4ML" <rrucker@clark.net>,
    "Stephen Martin, K3KQ" <s_martin@ix.netcom.com>,
    "Terry Hines, N4ZH" <thines@mitre.org>, Wayne Cooper <AG4R@erols.com>,
    "William G. Mills" <WMILLS@gmc.cc.ga.us>,
    "Lew Bradley, W4SWP" <LLBradley@aol.com>,
    "Leland Smith, W5KL" <W5KL@alltel.net>,
    "Bill Getchell, sr. W1HRE" <PDZU98A@prodigy.com>,
    Bob Falsulkey <w3bbq_bob@compuserve.com>
Subject: SB 480 should be at the Governor's Office

The following was forwarded by Jack Kelleher, W4ZC:

>Date: Mon, 13 Apr 1998
>From: w4zc@macconnect.com (Jack Kelleher)
>Subject: SB 480 should be at the Governor's Office

>>Date: Mon, 13 Apr 1998
>>From: Frank Mackey - VA SEC / State RACES Officer <mackeyf@aresva.org>
>>Subject: SB 480 should be at the Governor's Office
>>
>>The Virginia Antenna Bill is moving along slowly.  For the latest status
>>check the following web site url:
>>
>>http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504?981+sum+SB480
>>
>>In summary the bill has been re-written to include the Senate and House
>>agreed upon version which is listed below.  This final approved version
>>has been signed by the
>>    Speaker of the House on 4/6/98 and by the
>>  President of the Senate on 4/8/98.
>>
>>This means that the bill should be at or on the way to the Governor's
>>Office for his signature.
>>
>>A final push expressing your desire to see the Governor sign the Bill
>>probably should be sent via whatever means.
>>
>>The contact information is as follows:
>>
>>Governor's Office phone is:  804-786-2211
>>
>>Snail Mail Address is:
>>
>>Office of the Governor
>>State Capitol
>>Richmond, VA 23219
>>
>>Fax: 804.371.6351
>>
>>governor@gov.state.va.us
>>
>>
>>=============================== TEXT ===============================
>>
>>                  VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- CHAPTER
>>
>>An Act to amend the Code of Virginia by adding a section numbered
>>15.2-2293.1, relating to placement of amateur radio antennas.
>>                                             [S 480]
>>                                            Approved
>>
>>Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:
>>
>>1. That the Code of Virginia is amended by adding a section numbered
>>15.2-2293.1 as follows:
>>
>>15.2-2293.1. Placement of amateur radio antennas.
>>
>>Any ordinance involving the placement, screening or height of antennas
>>shall reasonably accommodate amateur radio antennas and shall impose the
>>minimum regulation necessary to accomplish the locality's legitimate
>>purpose. 

In localities having a population density of 120 persons or
>>less per square mile according to the 1990 United States census, no
>>local ordinance shall (ia) restrict amateur radio antenna height to less
than
>>200 feet above ground level as permitted by the Federal Communication
>>Commission or (iia) restrict the number of support structures. 

>>In localities having a population density of more than 120 persons per
>>square mile according to the 1990 United States census, no local
>>ordinance shall (ib) restrict amateur radio antenna height to less than
>>75 feet above ground level or (iib) restrict the number of support
>>structures. 

>>Reasonable and customary engineering practices shall be
>>followed in the erection of amateur radio antennas. This section shall
>>not preclude any locality, by ordinance, from regulating amateur radio
>>antennas with regard to reasonable requirements relating to the use of
>>screening, setback, placement, and health and safety requirements.
>>
>>
>>=========================================
>>Thank for all of those who have supported this effort and please do not
>>forget to thank your elected officials who voted for this Bill.
>>
>>
>>Frank Mackey - K4EC
>>Virginia SEC
>>State RACES Officer